Run 4 – SLOWLY hitting a Goal!

Last night, I decided to run about 7:15ish. I wanted to go out to a soft track, but it was going to be dark soon and I had to run around my block. My goal was to run 09:00 | walk 2:00 | 2 cycles + 8:00 run. After last week, I didn’t think I would be able to hit these goals. I took off Saturday due to soreness and rested Sunday.

When I started the run last night, I took about 20 steps and realized that I was starting at a much faster pace than I was finishing with. Instead of keeping this pace, I decided to slow down to more comfortable pace. Before I knew it, 9:00 was here! I walked for 2. Then on the back side of the loop, I forgot I was running! This used to happen to me all of the time when I was marathon training. I would kinda go into a zone where my feet kept moving at a comfortable pace and my mind would think about other things. I LOVED it when this would happen! It was the only way I got through the long runs. Before I knew it, I was at minute 20:00 & feeling pretty good. I walked for 2:00 and begin on the home stretch. I slowed my pace just a little when I figured that I would be home about 0:30 – 1:00 early if I continued at the current pace. I focused on form and  reducing the shock on my knees. I made it home at the 30:00 mark & I HIT ALL of my goal times for the first time since I starting running again!! This was really encouraging for me and I was happy to have gone into “the zone” again. I don’t know how that happens, but THAT is why I like running.

Just for fun, I went to http://www.MapMyRun.com and found out that I ran 2.17 miles. My average pace was 13:49.49 min/mi & my average speed was 4.34 mi/hr. That is SO SLOW! But, I hit my timed goals. Right now, it isn’t about distance or speed. For me, it is about building endurance. If I don’t have the ability to run for 30 minutes at a time, then I can’t work on speed or distance!

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

